VOL. XXVI

October 20, 1949

No. 7

APPLICATIONS FOR FACULTY RESEARCH GRANTS

All applications for faculty research grants must be submitted to the office of Dean Moore, Chairman of the Faculty Research Committee, before Thursday, November 10, at 4:30 P.M. in order to be acted upon this fall. Persons interested in applying for a grant should obtain an application blank from Dean Moore's secretary, who will also make available mimeographed material giving information concerning the nature of projects which may be approved. Information may also be obtained by contacting other members of the committee, who are Dr. A. L. Porterfield, Dr. E. M. Jellinek, Dr. C. W. LaGrone, Dr. C. F. Cheverton, Dr. Joseph Morgan, and Dr. T. C. Crenshaw. In addition to filling out the formal application, applicants will be encouraged to present, in typed form, a more detailed outline, giving the background and objects of the project, consideration of work done by others on the specific problem, and a preliminary description of the method of approach to the problem. The Committee will meet at 2:30 on Thursday, November 17, to act on all applications. Applicants will be invited to be present when their applications are considered, if they wish.

> -- Jerome Moore, Chairman Committee on Faculty Research

SPRING CLASS SCHEDULE

Heads of Departments are asked to prepare the Spring Semester class schedule for the department, by subjects as follows:

Course and No.

Sect. No.

Hour Days

Room Instructor

Please have this material typed in good form on 82 X 11 white sheets, and submit to my office as soon as possible.

> -- Jerome Moore, Chairman Scheduling Committee

APPROVED ABSENCES

The following students will attend the Southwest Theatre Conference at Norman, Oklahoma, on Friday and Saturday, October 21-22.

Bebe Baker Joy Bell Roy Cates Betty Criner Dick Embeleton Jay Henley Betty Ingle

Jackie Miller Ann Barham Stephens Betty Tobey Fred Wilkerson Odin Wilson Vivian H. Johnson

Walther R. Volbach Director of Theatre

APPROVED ABSENCES

In order to participate in a football game with the Texas A&M freshmen, the following men will be absent from all classes on October 20th and 21st:

John Harville Ray Cathey Joe Knapp Bobby Harding Jim Amburg Charlie Davis John Driskill Don Parker Don Perry Robert Snow Kenneth Cochran Jerry Glass Marshall Robinson Malvin Fow er Carlton McCormack C. H. Hedge Johnsye Tankersley David Pitzer Hubert Parrett William Buck

Mickey Teems Jack Ramsay Robert Zotz Jack Temple Marshall Harris Stanley Reinshagen Eddie Wilburn Charles Wrenn Don Thompson Don Martin Teddy Vaught Charles Rogers Bob Blair Wayne Martin Harlan McWilliams William Hill Don Bell Tom Evans Joe Knapp Walter Echols

Carl Knox

Walter Roach Freshman Football Coach

THE FOLLOWING STUDENTS HAVE DROPPED ALL COURSES:

-		The state of the s		
	Names redacted	9-23-49 9-29-49 9-29-49 9-29-49 9-30-49 9-16-49 10-3-49 19-6-49 10-5-49 10-8-49 10-8-49 10-8-49	Names redacted	10-10-49 10-6-49 10-10-49 10-10-49 10-7-49 10-13-49 10-12-49 10-3-49 10-15-49 10-3-49 10-12-49

S.W. Hutton Registrar